Family & Children's Services of Renfrew County - Annual Report 2016-2017

"You cared about me. You came to see me the day I left and hugged me good bye. You said that I would succeed. You told me I could email, text, or call anytime. And I did. Most of all you believed in me. I want to thank you for ALL you have done for me. Without you I would have been afraid. But because of you I can now succeed and live in my new city."

Client involved with Developmental Services

Looking back on 2016-2017 brings up many feelings: love and compassion for the children, youth, adults and families we support, sincere gratitude for the foster families, volunteers, donors and sponsors who uphold our organization, and tremendous respect for the Board of Directors and all staff who we have the pleasure of working closely with each and every day.

You have made a difference in making this another year closer to our ultimate goals of ensuring that we provide excellent service in collaboration with community partners and supported by skilled and knowledgeable teams of professionals.

We feel proud to live in a community and work in an organization that cares for its members and gives selflessly through hard work and compassion. Our five year strategic plan is expiring at the end of June 2017 and we have been on a journey to develop and rejuvenate our commitment to the people we serve and create a pathway to excellence for the next five years.

Staying true to the overall goals and objectives has been no mean feat – there has been anything but stability in the child welfare, developmental services, early years and supervised access and exchange sectors, in addition to the economic and political environments. Our organization needed to be adaptable and to take on new perspectives, many with an element of risk. However, we have been successful in accomplishing the majority of the goals set in 2011, and made substantial progress in others.

We developed a supervision model, provided ongoing training opportunities for all staff, enhanced our existing office space, and built the new office in the Town of Renfrew. We have established an employee specific recognition event, established succession plan, and focused on employee wellness. 

In addition, we completed needs assessment and provided leadership in creating several new services in the community, developed internal, external and crisis communication plans, as well as a disaster recovery plan and created a Quality Assurance and Human Resources specific position.

Moreover, we implemented a strength based service model, increased permanency options and family supports and improved in service delivery and compliance with standards in all our programs.

As we look into the future, the words of Anne Lamont come to mind "Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining". It is our hope that FCSRC becomes a strong ally to all citizens of Renfrew County, an organization that is known for its strength in caring, its confidence in service provision and compassion for all.

Let your light shine!

Arijana Haramincic
Executive Director

Cindy Simpson
Board Chair

Arijana Haramincic and Cindy Simpson

"My kids love going to the early years centre for drop in and for the parties and events. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming, they make the kids feel special and important each visit. It’s also a great place to meet other parents while the kids learn to socialize with others."

Parent involved in the Early Years Program

Fund Activity
Renenue Net Cost of All Services
Child Welfare 11,031,502 13,798,611
Developmental Services 9,387,868 9,151,172
Early Years 628,934 656,424
Supervised Access 211,917 211,867
Preparation for Independence 123,435 123,368
Outreach Program 86,654 86,654
Total 24,470,310 24,028,096

Safe Shelter for Youth has been in operation for the past 5 years as a partnership between Columbus House (Pembroke) Inc., Family and Children’s Services of Renfrew County, Renfrew County United Way, and The Phoenix Centre for Children and Families. The program supports homeless youth or at risk of becoming homeless youth between the ages of 16 – 21. The generous support from the community, United Way and Ontario Trillium has made it sustainable. It is a true grass roots, youth centered program, removing barriers for youth at risk of homelessness.

We continue on our journey in building our relationships with our First Nations, Inuit, and Métis (FNIM) Peoples. The Renfrew County Cultural Support Committee has been developed with our staff and community members to establish strategies that helps identify, educate and provide resources to families and children that we work with. We are also a partner in the Anishaanabe Cultural Circle, which promotes aboriginal teaching and culture to those in attendance, and help organize the Aboriginal Day. The Algonquins of Pikwakanagan Prevention Services, over the past year, have visited our staff team meetings to review the Protocol Agreement, in order to work in a spirit of collaboration and partnership. The agency is committed to providing services in a manner that acknowledges history and that respects the culture and traditions of the FNIM families.

On February 20, 2017, skating, hot dogs, balloons and face painting set the tone at the agency’s Ice Skating activity that took place at the Nick Smith Centre in Arnprior, and the Rotary Park in Pembroke.

Jayden A

Jayden will be completing high school June of this year, and has aspirations of continuing her academic pursuits. She has yet to decide if she will enroll in University (in Kinesiology and Health Science, Bachelor of Physical Education or Bachelor of Arts Psychology) or College (Pre-Science Program: Practical Nursing and Paramedic). She is a strong and capable young woman who values her education and who also contributes to her community and to the well-being of others.

Rachel C

Rachel has successfully earned both a Human Service Foundations Certificate and Social Service Worker Diploma. Rachel has been accepted to Carelton University and will begin studies in September 2017 working towards an Honours of Psychology degree. We are very proud of Rachel and want to continue providing supports in her next academic pursuit at Carleton.

Autum T

Autum initially was planning to attend Algonquin College in Pembroke for the Animal Science Diploma Program in September 2016, however she has since changed her program to General Arts. Autum is a contentious student who works hard to reach her potential. She has excellent supports and guidance to assist with planning for short and long term academic goals.

The Ontario Early Years System in Renfrew Nipissing Pembroke continues to grow. We have more families than ever accessing our Play and Learn Drop-Ins. Parents/caregivers come to participate in fun and family friendly activities, to get information and support and to meet other families. Our school readiness programs are one of the most popular programs that we deliver. We offer a Dad and Me evening program (10 sessions) where we have 40 dads and children come together to have supper and play. We see an increased need for parents who require information, knowledge and access to services for their child. Keeping updated on the latest research, community and regional services and maintaining our strong partnerships is an important aspect of the work we do in supporting families. Our ongoing partnership with the Renfrew County and District Health Unit’s Public Health Nurses have strengthened our ability to serve and support families. We continue to focus on our key principles: child and family centered, welcoming, high quality, inclusive, integrated and community-led. We recognize that parents are their child’s first educator and it is our hope to support parents/caregivers to enhance the parent-child relationship to lead to positive child, family and community experiences.

Jubilee Place continues to meet the increasing demands of families with young children who require support. The Baby Cupboard continues to help families who are in need of necessary baby items. We are grateful to the ongoing work of our Advisory Group who raise money and gather supplies each year to support the work at Jubilee. Parent Education and workshops designed to suit the needs of families continue to be in high demand. It has been well established that parent-child interactions in early life form the foundation for a child’s social and emotional development and we continue to hear about research that mental health issues often have their roots in early childhood. The work that is done through the tremendous partnership with Public Health Nurses, Phoenix Centre, and Bernadette McCann House to support parents to be supportive, attentive and a sensitive care-giver plays an important role in protecting young children from the harmful effects of stress. We will continue to focus on building strong, positive parent-child attachment relationships and increasing parenting skills with our families.

Both at agency and regional level we continue to develop relationships with our francophone community and we are actively developing strategies to improve our active offer of French Language Services. Our internal FLS committee supports the development of Francophone culture within the organization, and continues to focus on ensuring quality service to our Francophone community. A training curriculum was developed by the regional committee, and our staff attended the Building Better French Language Services training which was facilitated by our consultant. The training increased their understanding of their responsibilities regarding the active offer of French language services compliance with active offer standards as well as developing positive attitudes towards an active offer of FLS.

Family Visitation and Exchange Services enables children to maintain connections with parents that they are not living with by offering a safe, neutral place to visit while protecting the physical and emotional safety of the children and their families, including the safety of parents who have been victims of domestic violence. Supervised access centres provide a setting where visits and exchanges can take place under the supervision of trained staff and volunteers. In the past year numbers have remained steady through this fiscal year. We continue to innovate the way that we do business ensuring that all who seek our help receive service in a timely matter.

"I would like to express my gratitude for the services you offered to my family in a very difficult time. The children had positive experiences with their visits at the center and the staff normalized the experience for them by being welcoming and trustworthy."

Parent involved in the Supervised Access Program

Staff who reached a milestone of 10, 20, 25 or 35 years of service were honored by their fellow colleagues in a ceremony full of fellowship, anecdotes and appreciation for their long term work in the organization. At the ceremony, which took place on January 23, 2017, 11 staff members were congratulated for their commitment to their work and received accolades from other staff members highlighting their contributions to the community, as well as the unique characteristics that make them valuable and important for service delivery.

The Developmental Services Division has been an active participant in the Provincial and County Wide Special Needs Strategy Planning Group. This Group is composed of Health, Education and Social Service Providers as well as Parents and Caregivers of children diagnosed with broad levels of Special Needs. The Group met for over two and a half years to develop a Strategy for Renfrew County that was compliant with the directions of our Government. In February 2017 Family and Children’s Services of Renfrew County was confirmed as the “Coordination Agency” for Service Planning Coordination in Renfrew County. The Service Planning Coordinator is attached to the Case Management Services Team of the Developmental Services Division and is mandated to work with children and families who have complex needs requiring the use of multiple services. Each child and family will have access to planning which supports their unique circumstances while developing a single plan of service which involves all involved service providers. This is a new service which is implementing throughout Ontario, and we are pleased to provide our community with this service and look forward to feedback as it is implemented.

The Parents Anonymous® program is an evidence-based family strengthening program for any family seeking help and support, or is involved in child welfare, mental health, substance abuse, early childhood, schools, domestic violence, health care and justice systems given the issues faced by themselves and their children and youth. Since its first establishment in the agency two years ago, we have now become accredited as Parents Anonymous® of Renfrew County, and hold weekly, parent-led support groups. Parenting struggles and successes, problems and solutions are shared in a safe and supportive atmosphere, as well trained Children and Youth Group Facilitators deliver a structured program to enhance self-esteem, build resilience, protective factors, and ensure the social and emotional development and well-being of children and youth ages 0-18 who may have mental health or other challenges.

The Kumon program continues to support the academic success of the children of Renfrew County. The Kumon method is offered in both Math and Reading to empower children to become confident learners. We are attempting to grow our numbers by increasing the public awareness of the availability of this quality program to the area.

"I would like to express my gratitude for the services you offered to my family in a very difficult time. The children had positive experiences with their visits at the center and the staff normalized the experience for them by being welcoming and trustworthy?"

Services à la famille et à l'enfance du comté de Renfrew - Rapport annuel 2016-2017

« Vous vous êtes souciés de moi.  Je suis venue vous voir l’autre jour et vous m’avez souhaité au revoir avec une caresse.  Vous avez dit que j’allais avoir du succès.  Vous m’avez dit que je pouvais envoyer un courriel, un texto, ou vous appeler à tout moment.  Ce que j’ai fait.  Par-dessus tout, vous avez cru en moi.  Je veux vous remercier pour TOUT ce que vous avez fait pour moi.  Sans votre soutien j’aurais eu peur.  Mais grâce à vous, je peux maintenant avoir du succès et habiter dans ma nouvelle ville.  »

Client des Services de développement

En examinant l’année 2016-2017, je ressens plusieurs émotions:  l’amour et la compassion pour les enfants, les jeunes, les adultes et les familles que nous soutenons, une gratitude sincère pour nos familles d’accueil, nos bénévoles, nos donateurs et nos commanditaires qui soutiennent notre organisme, ainsi qu’un respect énorme pour nos membres du conseil d’administration et pour nos membres du personnel avec qui nous avons le plaisir de travailler de près au quotidien.

Cette année, vous avez contribué à nous faire avancer vers nos buts ultimes, soit d’assurer que nous offrons des services d’excellente qualité en collaboration avec nos partenaires communautaires et avec le soutien d’une équipe de professionnels talentueux et compétents.

Nous sommes fières d’habiter dans une communauté et de travailler pour un organisme qui se préoccupe réellement du bien-être de ses membres et qui donne sans compter de son dur labeur et de sa compassion.

Notre plan stratégique de 5 ans se termine à la fin de juin 2017 et nous avons déjà amorcé le processus de planification stratégique qui aboutira à un plan pour développer et relancer notre engagement envers les personnes que nous servons et créer une piste vers l’excellence pour les prochains cinq ans.

Rester fidèle à nos buts ultimes et à nos objectifs n’a pas été donné – il y a eu tout sauf la stabilité au sein de l’environnement dans lequel nous opérons.  Les secteurs de la protection de l’enfance, les services de développement, les centres de la petite enfance et les services d’accès supervisé et d’échange des enfants ont été mouvementés, sans parler du contexte économique et politique!  Notre agence a dû savoir s’adapter et adopter de nouvelles perspectives, dont plusieurs comportaient un élément de risque.  Cependant, nous avons connu du succès dans l’accomplissement de la majorité de nos buts fixés en 2011, et dans les progrès substantiels faits vers l’atteinte des autres buts.

Nous avons développé un modèle de supervision, offert des opportunités de formation continue à tout notre personnel, amélioré notre espace de bureau actuel, et construit nos nouveaux bureaux dans la ville de Renfrew.  Nous avons établi un événement spécifiquement pour la reconnaissance de nos employés et employées, mis en place un plan de succession, et ciblé le bien-être des membres de notre personnel.

De plus, nous avons complété une étude des besoins et avons joué un rôle de leadership dans la création de plusieurs nouvelles ressources dans la communauté, nous avons développé des plans de communication interne, externe et en situation de crise ainsi qu’un plan de gestion de situations de crise, et nous avons créé un nouveau poste de Coordinateur de la qualité et Coordinatrice des ressources humaines.

Par ailleurs, nous avons mis en place un modèle de services axé sur les forces de chaque famille; nous avons augmenté les options de la permanence et les différents soutiens disponibles aux familles; et nous avons amélioré l’offre des services et la conformité de nos services aux normes dans tous nos programmes.

En nous tournant vers l’avenir, les paroles d’Anne Lamont me viennent à l’esprit:  “Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.” (Les phares ne courent pas partout à la recherche de bateaux à sauver; ils restent debout là où ils sont, à rayonner).  C’est notre espoir, que SFECR devienne un allié important à tous les citoyens et à toutes les citoyennes du comté de Renfrew, que nous soyons connus comme organisme soucieux, confiant dans son offre de services et plein de compassion pour toutes les personnes que nous rencontrons.

Laissez-vous rayonner!

Arijana Haramincic
Directeur exécutif

Cindy Simpson
Président du conseil d’administration

Arijana Haramincic et Cindy Simpson

« Mes enfants fréquentent le Centre de la petite enfance pour les services sans rendez-vous et pour les fêtes et les événements.  Tous les membres du personnel sont si amicaux et accueillants, ils font en sorte que les enfants se sentent spéciaux et importants à chaque visite.  C’est aussi un endroit idéal pour rencontrer d’autres parents pendants que les enfants apprennent à socialiser avec d’autres enfants. »

Parent impliqué avec le Centre de la petite enfance

Fund Activity
Renenue Net Cost of All Services
Child Welfare 11,031,502 13,798,611
Developmental Services 9,387,868 9,151,172
Early Years 628,934 656,424
Supervised Access 211,917 211,867
Preparation for Independence 123,435 123,368
Outreach Program 86,654 86,654
Total 24,470,310 24,028,096

L’hébergement sécuritaire pour jeunes, un partenariat entre Columbus House (Pembroke) Inc. et Services pour familles et enfants du comté de Renfrew, Centreaide comté Renfrew et le Centre Phoenix pour enfants et familles,  est en service pendant les 5 dernières années.  Le programme offre du soutien aux jeunes sans-abris ou à risque de devenir sans-abri âgés de 16 à 21 ans.  Le généreux soutien de la communauté, de Centreaide et de la Fondation Trillium, a permis au programme de devenir durable.  Ce programme est une initiative de la communauté centrée sur la jeunesse et est en train de défoncer les barrières pour les jeunes à risque de devenir sans-abris.

Nous continuons à renforcer nos relations avec les peuples des Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis.  Le Comité de soutien culturel de comté de Renfrew a été établi par notre personnel et des membres de la communauté pour développer des stratégies pour aider à identifier, éduquer et ressourcer les familles et les enfants avec qui nous travaillons.  Notre agence est un partenaire du Anishaanabe Cultural Circle, qui promeut les enseignements et les cultures autochtones à ceux et à celles qui y participent, et aide à organiser la Journée autochtone.  Les Algonquins de Pikwakanagan Prevention Services, dans la dernière année, ont participé à des rencontres d’équipe à notre agence pour revoir le protocole d’entente, dans le but de travailler dans un esprit de collaboration et de partenariat.  Notre agence est dévouée à offrir des services de façon à reconnaitre l’histoire de nos peuples et à respecter la culture et les traditions de nos familles autochtones.

Le 20 février 2017, le patinage, des hot dogs, des ballons, et de la peinture du visage ont créé une atmosphère de fête pour notre activité de patinage sur glace au Nick Smith Centre à Arnprior et au parc Rotary de Pembroke.

Jayden A

Jayden complètera l’école secondaire au mois de juin de cette année et elle aspire continuer ses études postsecondaires.  Elle n’a pas encore décidé si elle veut s’inscrire à l’université (en Kinésiologie et Sciences de la santé, un baccalauréat en Éducation physique ou un baccalauréat en Arts dans le domaine de la Psychologie) ou au collège (programme d’études préparatoires en sciences:  infirmière auxiliaire et ambulancier).  Elle est une jeune femme forte et très capable, elle reconnaît la valeur de son éducation et contribue à sa communauté et au bien-être des autres.

Rachel C

Rachel a déjà eu du succès académique:  elle a obtenu un certificat en Services humains et un diplôme de Travailleuse sociale.  Rachel a été acceptée à l’Université Carleton et commencera ses études en septembre 2017 en voie d’obtenir éventuellement un baccalauréat de 4 ans en Psychologie.  Nous sommes très fiers de Rachel et voulons continuer à lui soutenir dans ses prochaines poursuites académiques à l’Université Carleton.

Autum T

Autum planifiait faire ses études au Collège Algonquin à Pembroke en Sciences animales en septembre 2016, mais elle a changé au programme général en Arts.  Autumn est une étudiante consciencieuse qui travaille fort à atteindre son plein potentiel.  Elle profite d’excellents soutiens et conseils qui lui permettent de bien planifier ses objectifs académiques à court et à long terme.

Le réseau ontarien des Centres de la petite enfance à Renfrew Nipissing Pembroke continue de s’étendre.  Nous avons plus de familles que jamais qui viennent accéder aux centres pour participer aux sessions de jeux sans rendez-vous.  Les parents/aide-soignantes viennent participer à des activités amusantes et adaptées aux familles, pour recevoir des informations et du soutien, et pour rencontrer d’autres familles.  Nos programmes de préparation à l’école sont parmi les programmes les plus populaires que nous offrons.  Nous offrons un programme Papa et moi en soirées (10 sessions) qui a vu 40 pères et enfants se réunir pour le souper et des jeux.  Nous observons des besoins accrus de la part des parents pour de l’information, des connaissances et un accès aux services pour leurs enfants.  Se garder informé sur les dernières recherches, les services disponibles dans la communauté et dans la région et maintenir nos partenariats solides sont des aspects importants de notre travail de soutien auprès des familles.  Notre partenariat continu avec des infirmières de l’Unité de santé publique du comté de Renfrew et du district a renforcé notre capacité de soutenir les familles du comté.  Nous continuons de mettre l’accent sur nos principes clés:  offrir des services de haute qualité, dirigés par et intégrés à la communauté, des services centrés sur l’enfant et la famille, tout en restant inclusifs et accueillants.  Nous reconnaissons que les parents sont les premiers instructeurs et les premières instructrices de leur enfant et c’est notre souhait de soutenir les parents/aide-soignantes pour renforcer la relation parent-enfant afin de contribuer à des expériences positives pour l’enfant, la famille et la communauté.

La place Jubilee continue de répondre aux besoins grandissants des familles avec de jeunes enfants nécessitant du soutien.  L’armoire de provisions pour bébés continue d’aider des familles dans le besoin d’items essentiels pour leur bébé.  Nous sommes reconnaissants pour le travail continu de notre comité encadreur qui ramasse de l’argent ainsi que des provisions chaque année pour soutenir le travail de Jubilee.  Des ateliers d’éducation pour les parents conçus pour répondre aux besoins des familles continuent d’être très demandés.  Il est reconnu que les interactions parent-enfant au tout début de la vie forment les fondations du développement social et émotionnel de l’enfant et nous continuons d’apprendre de nouvelles recherches en santé mentale que les troubles de santé mentale ont souvent leurs racines dans la petite enfance.  Ce travail extraordinaire pour soutenir les parents se fait grâce à un partenariat avec des infirmières de la santé publique, le Centre Phoenix, et la Maison Bernadette McCann.  Ce travail a comme objectif d’encourager les parents à devenirs des aide-soignantes plus positifs, attentifs et sensibles, ce qui joue un rôle important dans la protection des jeunes enfants des impacts négatifs du stress.  Nous continuerons de mettre l’accent sur le développement de relations parent-enfant fortes avec un attachement positif et d’accroître les compétences parentales de nos familles.

À la fois au niveau de l’agence qu’au niveau régional, nous continuons à renforcer nos relations avec notre communauté francophone et nous développons activement des stratégies pour améliorer notre offre active de services en français (SEF).  Notre comité interne de SEF appui la valorisation de la culture francophone au sein de notre organisme, et continuons de mettre l’accent sur assurer la qualité des services offerts à notre communauté francophone.  Un curriculum de formation a été développé par le comité régional et notre personnel a participé à une session de formation pour améliorer l’offre des services en français qui a été animée par la consultante du comité régional.  La formation a amélioré la compréhension des participants par rapport à leurs responsabilités concernant l’offre active des services en français, leur obligation de se conformer aux normes par rapport à l’offre active et les a encouragés à adopter des attitudes positives par rapport à l’offre active des SEF.

Les services de visite familiale et d’échange des enfants permettent aux enfants de maintenir les connexions avec leurs parents qui n’habitent pas avec eux en offrant un espace sécuritaire et neutre à visiter tout en protégeant la sécurité physique et émotionnelle des enfants et de leurs familles, incluant la sécurité des parents qui ont été victimes de violence conjugale.  Les Centres d’accès supervisé offrent un lieu où les visites et les échanges peuvent prendre place sous la supervision de personnel et de bénévoles formés.  Dans la dernière année fiscale, le nombre de participants aux programmes est demeuré stable.  Nous continuons à innover notre façon de faire affaire afin d’assurer que toutes les personnes qui sollicitent notre aide reçoivent des services en temps opportun.

« J’aimerais vous exprimer ma gratitude pour les services que vous avez offerts à ma famille durant une période très difficile.  Les visites aux centres étaient des expériences positives pour les enfants et le personnel a normalisé l’expérience pour eux en étant accueillant et digne de confiance. »

Parent impliqué avec les Services d’accès supervisé

Les membres du personnel qui ont atteint un anniversaire de service important, soit de 10 , 20, 25 ou 35 ans de service, ont été célébrés par leurs collègues de travail lors d’une cérémonie pleine de camaraderie, d’anecdotes et d’appréciation pour leur long terme de travail au sein de l’organisme.  À la cérémonie de remise de prix, qui a eu lieu le 23 janvier 2017, 11 membres du personnel ont été félicités pour leur dévouement à leur travail et ont reçu des accolades de leurs collègues de travail mettant en valeur leurs contributions à la communauté, ainsi que les caractéristiques uniques qui font en sorte qu’ils sont précieux et importants pour assurer les services de l’agence.

La Division des services développementaux a été un participant actif au Comité de planification stratégique des besoins spéciaux au niveau de comté et de la province.  Ce groupe est composé d’agences œuvrant dans les domaines de la santé, de l’éducation et des services sociaux ainsi que de parents et aide-soignantes d’enfants diagnostiqués avec un besoin spécial parmi le large spectre des besoins spéciaux.  Ce comité s’est rencontré pour plus de deux ans et demi pour développer une stratégie pour le comté de Renfrew qui était conforme avec les lignes directrices du gouvernement.  En février 2017, Services pour familles et enfants du comté de Renfrew a été confirmé en tant qu’agence coordinatrice pour les services de planification et de coordination du comté de Renfrew.  Les services de planification et de coordination sont reliés à l’équipe des services de gestion des cas de la Division des services développementaux et sont mandatés de travailler avec les enfants et les familles qui ont des besoins complexes nécessitant l’utilisation de services multiples.  Chaque enfant et famille aura accès à de la planification qui appui leurs circonstances uniques tout en développant un plan unique de services qui incluent toutes les agences qui offrent des services à la famille ou à l’enfant.  Il s’agit d’un nouveau service qui est en train d’être mis en œuvre à travers l’Ontario, et nous sommes contents de pouvoir offrir ce service à notre communauté et nous avons hâte de recevoir la rétroaction de nos clients qui reçoivent ces services pendant la mise en œuvre initiale de la stratégie.

Les Parents anonymes® est un programme fondé sur des preuves pour renforcer les familles qui demandent de l’aide ou du soutien.  Toute famille qui est impliquée dans les services de protection de l’enfance, de santé mentale, de toxicomanie,  de la petite enfance, dans les programmes scolaires, de la violence conjugale, des soins de santé, ou dans le système de justice en raison des problèmes auxquels font face les enfants, les jeunes ou les parents de la famille.  Depuis la mise en place de ce programme, il y a deux ans, au sein de l’agence, nous sommes devenus accrédités en tant que Parents anonymes du comté de Renfrew, et nous organisons des rencontres hebdomadaires de groupes de soutien menés par les parents.  Ces groupes de soutien permettent aux parents de partager leurs défis, leurs succès, leurs problèmes, et leurs solutions dans un environnement sécuritaire et solidaire.  En même temps, des animateurs et animatrices de groupes d’enfants et de jeunes formés livrent un programme structuré pour améliorer l’estime de soi, renforcer la résilience, traiter des facteurs liés à la protection, et assurer le développement social et émotionnel ainsi que le bien-être des enfants et des jeunes âgés de 0 à 18 ans qui ont des défis en lien avec la santé mentale ou tout autre défis.

Le programme Kumon continue de soutenir le succès académique des enfants du comté de Renfrew.  La méthode Kumon est offerte en mathématiques et en lecture afin d’équiper les enfants à devenir des apprenants confiants.  Nous tentons d’accroitre le nombre de participants en faisant connaître la disponibilité de ce programme de qualité au public de la région.

« Nous sommes absolument éblouis par l’aide que notre fils a reçue du programme Kumon.  Il a atteint tous les objectifs qu’il s’est fixés pour soi au début de son cheminement au sein du programme.  Il adore le programme et a fait du progrès sur plusieurs niveaux!!  Merci Kumon! »